Treatments for congenital heart disease

Congenital heart problems range from simple to complex. Some heart problems can be monitored by your baby's cardiologist and managed with medication, while others will require heart surgery or cardiac catheterization — sometimes as soon as the first few hours after birth.

 

A child may "grow" out of some minor heart problems, such as a patent ductus arteriosus (PDA) or an atrial septal defect (ASD).  These conditions may resolve on their own as the child grows. Other children have more complex forms of congenital heart disease, or a combination of different types, and require multiple operations or catheter interventions and lifelong care.

 

Some types of congenital heart disease, such as the holes that occur with ASD, VSD, and PDA, may close on their own in the first few days after birth. If it does not, you may not need to treat a small hole. Treatment of any type of disease, including valves, depends on the patient's symptoms.

watchful waiting

If the heart defect or malformation is small, and if the person has few or no symptoms, the doctor may advise waiting to see if the defect improves over time. This can be done especially for VSD, which can close in the first few years of life.

 

pharmaceutical

There are many medications that can help the heart work more efficiently and relieve symptoms.  Some can also be used to prevent blood clots from forming or to control an irregular heartbeat.

 

 

Implantable heart devices

Some complications associated with congenital heart defects can be prevented with some devices, including pacemakers and implantable defibrillators (ICDs). A pacemaker can help regulate an abnormal heart rate, and an implantable cardioverter-defibrillator may correct a life-threatening irregular heartbeat.

 

 

catheter

Catheter techniques allow doctors to repair some congenital heart defects without surgically opening the chest and heart. During these procedures, the doctor inserts a thin tube into a vein in the leg and guides it to the heart. Once the catheter is in the correct position, the doctor will use small tools that are passed through the catheter to correct the defect. For some people, this procedure can:

 

  • Treat valve stenosis. This is done by inserting and inflating a small balloon into the valve. This procedure, called valvuloplasty, widens the valve and allows it to work properly. NS

  • The salutation of abnormal openings in the heart: ASD, VSD, PDA.

  • Close the abnormal openings in the heart. With a personal digital assistant, for example, a very small closure device can be inserted into the catheter. When placed inside the hole, the device is released and can close the hole.

 

open heart surgery

This type of surgery may be needed if catheter procedures aren't enough to repair a congenital heart defect. The surgeon may perform open-heart surgery to close holes in the heart, repair heart valves, or widen blood vessels.

Sometimes open heart surgery is the best form of treatment, especially if a person has a number of types of congenital heart disease.

 

heart transplant

In the rare cases where a congenital heart defect is too complex to repair, a heart transplant may be needed.  During this procedure, the baby's heart is replaced with a healthy heart from a donor.

علاجات لأمراض القلب الخلقية

تتراوح مشاكل القلب الخلقية من البسيطة إلى المعقدة. يمكن مراقبة بعض مشاكل القلب من قبل طبيب القلب لطفلك وإدارتها بالأدوية، بينما سيتطلب البعض الآخر جراحة قلب أو قسطرة قلبية - في بعض الأحيان بمجرد الساعات القليلة الأولى بعد الولادة.

 

قد "ينمو" الطفل من بعض مشاكل القلب البسيطة، مثل القناة الشريانية السالكة (PDA) أو عيب الحاجز الأذيني (ASD).  قد يتم حل هذه الحالات من تلقاء نفسها مع نمو الطفل. يعاني الأطفال الآخرون من أشكال أكثر تعقيدًا من أمراض القلب الخلقية، أو مزيج من أنواع مختلفة، ويتطلبون عدة عمليات أو تدخلات القسطرة والرعاية المستمرة طوال حياتهم.

 

بعض أنواع امراض القلب الخلقية، مثل الثقوب التي تحدث مع ASD و VSD و PDA ، قد تغلق من تلقاء نفسها في الأيام القليلة الأولى بعد الولادة. إذا لم يحدث ذلك فقد لا تحتاج إلى معالجة ثقب صغير. يعتمد علاج أي نوع من الأمراض، بما في ذلك الصمامات، على أعراض المريض.

الانتظار اليقظ

إذا كان العيب أو اتشوه القلب صغيرًا، وإذا كان لدى الشخص أعراض قليلة أو معدومة، فقد ينصح الطبيب بالانتظار لمعرفة ما إذا كان العيب قد يتحسن بمرور الوقت. يمكن القيام بذلك بشكل خاص بالنسبة لـ VSD ، والتي يمكن أن تغلق في السنوات القليلة الأولى من الحياة.

 

الأدوية

هناك العديد من الأدوية التي يمكن أن تساعد القلب على العمل بكفاءة أكبر و تخفيف الأعراض.  يمكن أيضًا استخدام بعضها لمنع تكون جلطات الدم أو للتحكم في عدم انتظام ضربات القلب.

 

 

أجهزة القلب القابلة للزرع

يمكن الوقاية من بعض المضاعفات المرتبطة بعيوب القلب الخلقية باستخدام بعض الأجهزة ، بما في ذلك أجهزة تنظيم ضربات القلب ومزيلات الرجفان المزروعة (ICDs). يمكن لجهاز تنظيم ضربات القلب أن يساعد في تنظيم معدل ضربات القلب غير الطبيعي، وقد يقوم مقوم نظم القلب ومزيل الرجفان القابل للزراعة بتصحيح ضربات القلب غير المنتظمة التي تهدد الحياة.

 

 

القسطرة

تسمح تقنيات القسطرة للأطباء بإصلاح بعض عيوب القلب الخلقية دون فتح الصدر والقلب جراحيًا. خلال هذه الإجراءات، يقوم الطبيب بإدخال أنبوب رفيع في وريد في الساق ويوجهه إلى القلب. بمجرد أن تكون القسطرة في الموضع الصحيح، سيستخدم الطبيب أدوات صغيرة يتم تمريرها عبر القسطرة لتصحيح العيب . بالنسبة لبعض الأشخاص، يمكن لهذا الإجراء:

 

  • عالج الصمام المصاب بالتضيق. يتم ذلك عن طريق إدخال ونفخ بالون صغير في الصمام. يوسع هذا الإجراء، الذي يسمى رأب الصمام ، الصمام ويسمح له بالعمل بشكل صحيح. إ

  • صلاح الفتحات غير الطبيعية في القلب: ASD ، VSD ، PDA.

  • أغلق الفتحات غير الطبيعية في القلب. باستخدام المساعد الرقمي الشخصي، على سبيل المثال، يمكن إدخال جهاز إغلاق صغير جدًا في القسطرة. عند وضعه داخل الفتحة، يتم تحرير الجهاز ويمكنه إغلاق الفتحة.

 

عملية قلب مفتوح

قد يلزم إجراء هذا النوع من الجراحة إذا لم تكن إجراءات القسطرة كافية لإصلاح عيب خلقي في القلب. قد يقوم الجراح بإجراء جراحة القلب المفتوح لإغلاق ثقوب في القلب أو إصلاح صمامات القلب أو توسيع الأوعية الدموية.

أحيانًا تكون جراحة القلب المفتوح هي أفضل شكل من أشكال العلاج، خاصةً إذا كان الشخص يعاني من عدد من أنواع أمراض القلب الخلقية.

 

زرع قلب

في الحالات النادرة التي يكون فيها عيب القلب الخلقي معقدًا للغاية بحيث لا يمكن إصلاحه، قد تكون هناك حاجة لعملية زرع قلب.  خلال هذا الإجراء، يتم استبدال قلب الطفل بقلب سليم من متبرع.