About congenital heart disease

Congenital heart disease or congenital heart defects

They are problems and abnormalities in the structure of the heart and the way it works at birth

Including lifelong related consequences.

Hearts and Shapes

Heart disease in numbers

Children living in the country under the age of 18

80%

The incidence of malformations and congenital heart defects in the country

1%

A child is born every year with congenital heart disease

970

Approximately 970 children are born each year with congenital heart disease, which is the leading cause of infant mortality associated with birth defects.  The incidence of malformations and congenital heart defects in the country is relatively higher than international levels, which is estimated at 10 per 1000 newborns.

 

It is estimated that 80% of children (under 18 years of age) are currently living with congenital heart disease in the UAE. Because of medical advances, there are now more adults with congenital heart disease. A more accurate number is not available because we do not have a system to track congenital heart disease after early infancy. Thanks to ongoing research, more children with congenital heart disease have reached adulthood, and for the first time in history there are more adults than children with congenital heart disease.

Causes of congenital heart disease / how to prevent it

Congenital heart disease occurs due to the incomplete or abnormal development of a baby's heart during the first weeks of pregnancy. The defect usually interferes with the normal flow of blood through the heart, which can affect breathing. Although researchers aren't entirely sure why heart failure develops properly, a few known causes and risk factors have been identified.

329858cd-3da8-442b-b4da-eb01588e2dc0.jpg

Diagnosis of congenital heart disease

Many serious and more severe congenital heart diseases are detected during pregnancy, during a routine ultrasound. Some cases may be diagnosed soon after birth. Less serious heart conditions may not be diagnosed until adolescence or early adulthood and you begin to show certain signs or symptoms of congenital heart disease.

 

The signs and symptoms of congenital heart disease depend on the type and severity of the specific defect.  Some defects may have few or no signs or symptoms

Available treatments:

Treatment for a congenital heart defect depends on the type and severity of the defect. Some children have mild heart defects that heal on their own over time. Others may have serious defects that require extensive treatment.

Follow-up health care for congenital heart disease

Children with congenital heart disease are followed up by specialists called pediatric cardiologists. These doctors diagnose heart conditions and help manage children's health before and after their heart problem.

There are at least 35 different types of congenital heart disease

Many of these types of congenital heart disease have multiple variations depending on the individual's unique anatomy. Several defects may occur together and other defects may be found in isolation.

Lifetime Support

People with congenital heart disease face unique challenges, treatment and repeat surgery often throughout their lives, and support is critical at every stage of their life journey - from the time of congenital heart disease diagnosis through childhood, teenage years and into adulthood.

 

The Emirates Congenital Heart Association (UAE-CHA) is the only national public benefit organization dedicated to supporting people of all ages affected by congenital heart disease, the leading cause of infant death in the UAE and a complex chronic disease requiring lifelong treatment.

 

The Emirates Congenital Heart Association (UAE-CHA) provides timely support to infants, young adults and adults with congenital heart disease and their families across the UAE. We monitor life-saving advanced scientific research, provide reliable and evidence-based information, and advocate for the needs of affected families.

 

Our support is a lifelong commitment.

حول أمراض القلب الخلقية

أمراض القلب الخلقية أو عيوب القلب الخلقية

هي مشاكل وتشوهات في بنية القلب وطريقة عملة تحدث عند الولادة

بما في ذلك العواقب ذات الصلة مدى الحياة.

Hearts and Shapes

امراض القلب بالارقام

أطفال يعيشون في الدولة اقل من ١٨ سنة

80%

نسبة الإصابة بالتشوهات والعيوب القلبية الخلقية في الدولة

1%

طفل يولد كل عام مصابين بأمراض القلب الخلقية

970

يولد ما يقارب 970 طفل كل عام مصابين بأمراض القلب الخلقية وهو السبب الرئيسي لوفيات الأطفال المرتبطة بعيوب الولادة.  حيث أن نسبة الإصابة بالتشوهات والعيوب القلبية الخلقية في الدولة تعتبر اعلى نسبيا من المستويات العالمية والتي تقدر بنحو 10 لكل 1000 من الأطفال حديثي الولادة.

 

تشير التقديرات إلى أن 80٪ طفل (أقل من 18 عامًا) يعيشون حاليًا مع أمراض القلب الخلقية في دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة. بسبب التقدم الطبي، يوجد الآن عدد أكبر من البالغين المصابين بأمراض القلب الخلقية. لا يتوفر رقم أكثر دقة لأنه ليس لدينا نظام لتتبع أمراض القلب الخلقية بعد الطفولة المبكرة. بفضل البحث المستمر، وصل عدد أكبر من الأطفال المصابين بأمراض القلب الخلقية إلى سن الرشد، ولأول مرة في التاريخ، هناك عدد من البالغين أكبر من الأطفال المصابين بأمراض القلب الخلقية.

أسباب أمراض القلب الخلقية / كيفية الوقاية منها

تحدث أمراض القلب الخلقية بسبب النمو الغير المكتمل أو غير الطبيعي لقلب الطفل خلال الأسابيع الأولى من الحمل. يتعارض العيب عادةً مع التدفق الطبيعي للدم عبر القلب، مما قد يؤثر على التنفس. على الرغم من أن الباحثين غير متأكدين تمامًا من سبب فشل القلب في التطور بشكل صحيح، ولكن تم تحديد عدد قليل من الأسباب وعوامل الخطر المعروفة.

329858cd-3da8-442b-b4da-eb01588e2dc0.jpg

تشخيص أمراض القلب الخلقية

يتم الكشف عن العديد من أمراض القلب الخلقية الخطيرة والأكثر شدة أثناء الحمل، أثناء الفحص الروتيني بالموجات فوق الصوتية. قد يتم تشخيص بعض الحالات بعد الولادة بفترة وجيزة. قد لا يتم تشخيص حالات القلب الأقل خطورة حتى سن المراهقة أو البلوغ المبكر وتبدأ في إظهار علامات أو أعراض معينة لمرض القلب الخلقي.

 

تعتمد علامات وأعراض أمراض القلب الخلقية على نوع وشدة الخلل المعين.  قد يكون لبعض العيوب علامات أو أعراض قليلة أو لا تظهر على الإطلاق

العلاجات المتوفرة:

يعتمد علاج عيب القلب الخلقي على نوع العيب وشدته. يعاني بعض الأطفال من عيوب القلب الخفيفة التي تلتئم من تلقاء نفسها مع مرور الوقت. قد يعاني البعض الآخر من عيوب خطيرة تتطلب علاجًا مكثفًا.

متابعة الرعاية الصحية لأمراض القلب الخلقية

يتم متابعة الأطفال المصابين بأمراض القلب الخلقية من قبل متخصصين يسمى أطباء قلب الأطفال. يقوم هؤلاء الأطباء بتشخيص أمراض القلب والمساعدة في إدارة صحة الأطفال قبل وبعد التدخل الجراحي لمشكلة قلوبهم.

يوجد على الأقل 35 نوعًا مختلفًا من أمراض القلب الخلقية

العديد من هذه الأنواع لأمراض القلب الخلقية لها اختلافات متعددة اعتمادًا على التشريح الفريد للفرد. قد تحدث عدة عيوب معًا ويمكن العثور على عيوب أخرى في عزلة.

دعم مدى الحياة

يواجه الأشخاص المصابون بأمراض القلب الخلقية تحديات فريدة وعلاجًا وجراحات متكررة في كثير من الأحيان طوال حياتهم، كما أن الدعم أمر بالغ الأهمية في كل مرحلة من رحلة حياتهم - من وقت تشخيص أمراض القلب الخلقية حتى الطفولة وسنوات المراهقة وحتى مرحلة البلوغ.

 

جمعية الإمارات لأمراض القلب الخلقية (UAE-CHA) هي المنظمة وطنية ذات نفع عام الوحيدة المخصصة لدعم الأشخاص من جميع الأعمار المتأثرين بأمراض القلب الخلقية، والسبب الرئيسي لوفاة الرضع في الإمارات العربية المتحدة ومرض مزمن معقد يتطلب علاجًا مدى الحياة.

 

تقدم جمعية الإمارات لأمراض القلب الخلقية (UAE-CHA) الدعم في الوقت المناسب للرضع والشباب والبالغين المصابين بأمراض القلب الخلقية وأسرهم في جميع أنحاء دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة. كما أننا نقوم برصد الأبحاث العلمية المتقدمة المنقذة للحياة ونوفر معلومات موثوقة وقائمة على الأدلة، وندافع عن احتياجات الأسر المتضررة.

 

دعمنا هو التزام مدى الحياة.